Pocono voters pick candidates for 139th and 189th Statehouse seats

Poconos primary voters made their choice in contested primaries for two state representative seats.

In the 139th District, they picked a Wayne County commissioner and former school board candidate to run for the Pennsylvania House seat in the fall.

State Representative Mike Peifer is retiring after this term and will be replaced by fellow Republican Joe Adams or Democrat Meg Rosenfeld.

Adams, who served as county commissioner for five years and was previously a school administrator, has 3,915 votes in Pike and Wayne counties. Robert Beierle and Elefterie Balu trail with 3,006 and 2,122, respectively, Thursday midday.

Rosenfeld, a Pike County resident who ran for the Delaware Valley School Board as part of Student Safety First Slate last fall, received 2,192 votes to Marian Keegan’s 1,907. Rosenfeld’s professional experience is in the fields of education and law.

The Pike County portion of this district includes the townships of Blooming Grove, Dingman, Greene, Lackaxen, Milford, Palmyra, Shohola, and Westfall, as well as the boroughs of Matamoras and Milford. The Wayne County portion includes the townships of Cherry Ridge, Dreher, Lake, Lehigh, Palmyra, Paupack, Salem, South Canaan, and Sterling, as well as the Borough of Hawley.

The story of two voters:In 2024, these two groups will decide which PA president will choose

More results: Jim Bognet Wins GOP Nomination for 8th Congressional District

In the 189th Ward, Republican voters chose between two local restaurant industry figures: Steve Ertle, manager of The Lounge at the Baymont Inn, and John Petrizzo, owner of Petrizzo’s Italian American Restaurant in Bushkill.

As of noon Thursday, with fewer than 50 mail-in and absentee ballots to count in Monroe County, Ertle had 2,100 votes in Monroe and Pike counties, and Petrizzo had 1,529.

Stroudsburg Mayor Tarah Probst was unopposed in the Democratic primary and received 4,098 votes.

The Monroe County portion of this district includes the townships of Middle Smithfield (East Ward), Smithfield, and Stroud (Wards 1, 3, 6, and 7), and the boroughs of Delaware Water Gap, East Stroudsburg, and Stroudsburg. The Pike County portion includes the townships of Delaware, Lehman, and Porter.

Provisional ballots are still being processed and not all totals are official.

Pocono Record readers can find live election results here: poconorecord.com/elections/results/local/

Tri-County readers can find live election results here: tricountyindependent.com/elections/results/local

Comments are closed.